The Stanley Parable (PC) Review

Like many gamers my age, I have the honor of saying that I played a shit ton of games, ranging from the generic military shooters to mind numbing puzzle games, from the third person exploration based adventure games to the artistic narrative intensive games, and from the old school inspired indie games to the loot fests of the role playing games. But never have I played a game that made me question what was real, or made my skin crawl at the realization of something I dare not say here in fear of ruining anything from the game like The Stanley Parable has.

The_Stanley_Parable_Intro_00

 

The Stanley Parable started out as a mod for Half Life 2, much like Dear Esther, and was remade to the indie gem we now have. It was developed by Galactic Cafe and was released in October of 2013.

This is not a game, mind you, it’s more in the spirit of Dear Esther or Gone Home, it’s an interactive story.

To try to review The Stanley Parable, or even describe anything that goes on in it beyond saying “you can walk around” would be to spoil it, and this game is an experience every gamer should go through at least once in his/her lifetime.

So yeah, this is it, this is my review of The Stanley Parable, I recommend it, that’s all I can say about it.

Leave a Reply

